• Root_Spider_1
  • Root_Spider_2
  • Root_Spider_3
  • Root_Spider_4
  • Root_Spider_5
  • Root_Spider_6

Industry nominee receives ICAO Walter Binaghi Air Navigation Commission Laurel Award

posted on Dec 12, 2017

Montréal, 11 December 2017 – At the opening session of ICAO’s Second Global Air Navigation Industry Symposium (GANIS/2) today, Mr. David Nakamura received the ICAO Walter Binaghi Air Navigation Commission Laurel Award.

ICAO’s Air Navigation Commission (ANC) is the technical body leading the development of international civil aviation Standards and Recommended Practices. Its Laurel Award is bestowed on an individual or group who, in its opinion, has made an outstanding contribution to furthering the safety, regularity and efficiency of international civil aviation through participation in the Commission’s work.

“David Nakamura was nominated for the Laurel Award by the International Coordinating Council of Aerospace Industries Associations (ICCAIA), making him the first Laurel Award recipient from industry. This is a fitting symbol of the collaboration between States and Industry that is crucial to ensuring the pertinence of the Air Navigation Commission’s work,” remarked Mr. Hajime Yoshimura, President of the ANC. “The Laurel Award recognizes Mr. Nakamura’s outstanding contribution to the safety, regularity and efficiency of international civil aviation through his valuable work on the development of performance-based navigation. It also recognizes his overall contribution to the work of the Air Navigation Commission through, inter alia, participation in the Air Traffic Management Requirements and Performance Panel (ATMRPP), the Instrument Flight Procedures Panel (lFPP), the Separation and Airspace Safety Panel (SASP) and the Performance-based Navigation Study Group (PBN SG).”

Since 1999, seven other individuals have received this prestigious award. It consists of a statuette replica of ‘Vuelo,’ a sculpture gifted to ICAO by the Government of Mexico that symbolizes flight and sits in the ANC Chamber.  

Previous recipients are:

1999 — Mr. Olivier Carel, Direction de la Navigation Aérienne, France

2001 — Mr. R. Roy Grimes, Federal Aviation Administration, United States

2003 — Miss Kaye R. Warner, Civil Aviation Administration, United Kingdom

2006 — Mr. Arthur Bradshaw, Air Traffic and Navigation Services, Republic of South Africa

2008 — Mr. Brian Colamosca, Federal Aviation Administration, United States

2011 — Mr. Yuri Mikhailovich Fyodorov, Russian Federation

2015 — Mr. Robert Charles Butcher, Australia. 

*Source: ICAO



Aviation-technology.me is a professional meeting place and a reliable source of information for stakeholders, decision makers, official authorities, consultants, suppliers, buyers, and aviation industry professionals; focusing on latest technologies, products, and services in the aviation and airport business.

Our Services

Aviation Company Advertising

Aviation Company Listing

Latest Aviation News

Latest Aviation Events

Email Advertising


Pending approval: 0
Total listing clicks: 15371
Total category clicks: 510385